Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 25, 2024, 12:37:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Can You Play An Instrument?

Started by Mr Brightside, May 18, 2017, 10:01:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shaky

Quote from: thenoise on May 19, 2017, 12:41:04 AM
It's easier than ever to be self-taught, what with the amount of youtube tutorial videos and free sheet music available on the net.  Although I would recommend having a proper lesson now and then as often as you can afford as well.

Surely learning from tutorial videos is the opposite of being self-taught though ahhhhhhhh

SpiderChrist

Drums. Fell out of love with it about 5 years ago and haven't picked up me sticks since.

Ray Travez

I'm a singer. Also play guitar to an average level[1], and basic drums. I used to be able to play the balalaika, but I haven't owned one for years.

1. I can do a passable rendition of Back to the Old House

Cerys

[tag]Cerys mentions her harp[/tag]

Mr Brightside

Quote from: SpiderChrist on May 19, 2017, 06:55:07 AM
Drums. Fell out of love with it about 5 years ago and haven't picked up me sticks since.

Not a proper instrument, mate.

Cerys

If you think that, you're not playing them right.

easytarget

Guitar to a reasonable level - held down a position in an unsuccessful indie rock band for a couple of years (yeah. look impressed). Am now doing a similar thing on bass in a fractionally more successful (relatively - we get to play at dive bars on weekends for no money, instead of on a Tuesday) synthy punk band. Bass is great, though I use a pick and loads of fuzz which probably irks the purists. The problem is now the guitar feels all small, like a toy ukulele.

SpiderChrist

Quote from: Mr Brightside on May 19, 2017, 07:44:44 AM