Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 5,583,396
  • Total Topics: 106,741
  • Online Today: 811
  • Online Ever: 3,311
  • (July 08, 2021, 03:14:41 AM)
Users Online
Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 25, 2024, 05:13:05 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Anime!

Started by Regular Chicken, September 18, 2007, 10:01:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
I'm a complete beginner in this field, but I figure I'm probably missing out on some really good stuff. I'm sure there's some Anime experts amongst you, so come forth!  In terms of feature length films, I've seen Akira and the first Ghost in the Shell (pretty much the two films every non-anime fan has seen). I haven't seen any Anime TV shows except Afro Samurai.

Which films/programmes would you recommend? I understand you can get any genre Anime so maybe I'm being too vague, it doesn't have to be sci-fi, just...good!

Any recommendations are welcome, but if anyone could pinpoint any stuff imparticular from this TV Links Anime page that'd be extra nice, so I can test some stuff out (for free).

Emma Raducanu

Straight away I'll recommend Only Yesterday (1991?). The artwork is just tear inducing and it tells a lovely little story about growing up in Tokyo. It's non offensive, there's little to dislike about the picture and it may even help you look back on your own growing up (It is considered an adult film mind). I think it has everything that's good about Anime but I'm no expert.

To add, this is a 'Studio Ghibli' production and though a lesser known film compared to Miyazaki's stuff, I guarantee it is as charming and loveable as anything he has done. Damn I'm going to go and watch it.

The Widow of Brid