Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 02:33:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

(muso) Acid Pro

Started by Elliot, April 22, 2004, 02:21:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Elliot

I just got this a couple of days ago.
I dont have any music making background and Im hoping to get some pointers to places that would help a total newb use this programme.
The only experience I have is playing around with fruity loops for a bit, but I just couldnt figure that one out at all. I have found  Acid to be much easier and simpler to make a quick tune.

My particular interest would be to make some dub type music or trip hop. Something chilled to begin with.
I have downloaded loads of loops fx etc and am all set.

How difficult is it if you know nothing about the science of music?
Whats the learning curve?

I know its all about playing around with it and learning but if anyone has any shortcuts tips links etc I'd be very thankful and happy and hopefully creative.

cheers

perhaps this could be a thread for tips and questions regarding this software?

El Unicornio, mang

Acid Pro makes it very simple. Basically, once you've done your .wav/midi/whatever files in Fruityloops, just open them up in Acid Pro and use the pencil tool to 'draw' the music into the individual tracks. It automatically loops the parts you have too, and you can keep adding to your hearts content.

For doing your type of music, I hear Reason is quite a good one, but from what I've seen it looks pretty complex.

I make all my music with:
Groove Agent (drums)
Slayer (bass)
Edirol Orchestral (strings and other classical type instruments)
Fruityloops (synthy gubbins)
Acid Pro (to multi-track and add guitars)