Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:40:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Videogaming v2.0 [post individual threads for games]

Started by HappyTree, March 02, 2009, 05:04:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chand

Quote from: HappyTree on February 12, 2010, 11:31:57 AM
Well I guess it's just what you're used to. I hate FPSes played with a mouse and keyboard. My left hand gets cramp with my fingers poised over the non intuitive at all and too spaced-out keys. Aiming with the right thumbstick has never been a problem. In fact I think it feels more like you're aiming a gun that way than it does just pointing on the screen with a mouse, easier though that may be.

I started playing FPS games on PC (Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, in the days when the height of console FPSes was the piss-awful Corporation on the Mega Drive), but I prefer it on consoles now. Partly because I went through a phase where my PC was too shit to play the decent games so I played them all on consoles, but other reasons too. The aiming is the one aspect of keyboard'n'mouse that's 'better', in that it's more accurate and quicker, but I don't particularly like the feel of it, something about just essentially clicking on things to make them die seems unsatisfying to me. For movement I vastly prefer thumbsticks, and I find keyboards less intuitive for everything else; weapons mapped to the number keys or the scroll wheel on a mouse seem awkward, much prefer games that have, for example, a four-weapon selection mapped to the D-pad, or even a two-weapon switch mapped to a face button.