Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 02:32:08 PM

Login with username, password and session length

How do you take a good photo?

Started by Neil, August 17, 2010, 02:12:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Neil

What basic rules do you follow when taking photos, give me some tips and stuff please.

Ginyard

Stick them under your jumper and run like fuck.

El Unicornio, mang

I'm not a photography expert but I always found that lighting was one of the most important aspects, at least with black and white pics. How the light source creates shapes and shadows and drama in the picture.

NoSleep

Quote from: Neil on August 17, 2010, 02:12:25 AM
What basic rules do you follow when taking photos, give me some tips and stuff please.

Taking lots of photos is helpful. You never know what might have worked in hindsight. It's like the editing process after the improvisation of the shooting (assuming your shoot was out in the field, as opposed to a set).

Quote from: NoSleep on August 17, 2010, 09:12:07 AM
Taking lots of photos is helpful.

At first. Then it gets daunting when you have to cut them down and edit them. I took 650 the other day. Would have been lot more but I only had 6GB of memory cards on me, so was discarding on the fly. Well probably most of them were of a marathon, where there was a bit of a need to spray and pray at times. First run through at home, I probably deleted a third. After that I compare similar photos and try to just keep the best.

mook

what image are you trying to capture is the first question you need to ask. the second is probably, why do i want to do this.

Dusty Gozongas

Composition-wise, the rule of thirds generally gives pleasing results.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rule_of_thirds

Shoulders?-Stomach!

^that