Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 08:40:42 AM

Login with username, password and session length

LoveFilm coming to PS3

Started by Santa's Boyfriend, October 13, 2010, 05:33:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Santa's Boyfriend

I'm really quite excited about this.  I've been using Lovefilm for about 5 years now, and although it's a good service and generally good value for money (far cheaper than renting dvds individually, considering how many I get through) its one major flaw has always been that you can't watch what you want when you want.  You have no real control over what arrives, so although you might want to watch Tarkovsky's Solaris, you might not be in the right frame of mind for it when it arrives.  (Same with Batman Begins or something like that.)

I think it was inevitable that streaming movies were going to go this way, and LoveFilm seem to be playing the smart card, in that they're not charging anything extra for this.  I guess they're trying to get their foot in the door before anyone else.  After all it's probably going to be a bit crap when it starts.  I seriously doubt they'll have HD streams, or much of a back catalogue at first.  But the PS3 movie store already on the system is really not very good.  It's poorly stocked, massively overpriced and takes too long to download.  So yeah, should be interesting.

It's happening some time next month apparently.

Madison

as an x box owner with the Zune library to pick from (think there's 2 films in their vast Documentary category), colour me jealous.

Santa's Boyfriend

knight123

Awesome news, though my internet isn't fast enough to make it worth doing.