Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 09:26:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Rock Band, Rock Band, I don't understand

Started by HappyTree, January 09, 2011, 03:18:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HappyTree

Does anyone here like this game? Are you good at it? Can I ask how????

I really don't get this game. I should preface this by saying that I am an actual musician. Like, I play instruments and percussion and sing in tune and in time. I've always found making music came naturally to me. But I cannot fathom out the Rock Band games at all.

You have a controller, or a special device shaped like a guitar, drums, bass with buttons. I believe the premise of the game is to press the correct button at the correct time. I had assumed that pressing it in time with the music playing was how you did well.

So why can't I do it?

I find that the on-screen graphics of the coloured "notes" approaching a horizontal line are way off time with the music. I get confused between following my ear for rhythm and following the visual cues. I have to look to know which colour to press, but trying to time it with when the blob crosses the line doesn't get me very far.

I've played games, I have visual timing and hand-eye co-ordination. I play music, I have hand-ear co-ordination. So why doesn't it work with this game? Is it a game that you can get better at as you practise? Why? Surely you're either in time or not.

I could play Parappa the Rapper, that was fun. Kick and punch! It was insane and hilarious. But Rock Band just eludes me. Help!

Parappa The Rappa - Prince Fleaswallow

Paperlung

Mister Six

Are you a shit musician?