Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 07:31:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Zelda Skyward Sword

Started by jutl, November 11, 2011, 09:43:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jutl

Quote from: Nik Drou on November 15, 2011, 12:47:26 PM
Yes, I thought that was slightly odd.  The review even echoes many of the points made in IW.

I think they were just trying to say something different, and so came across as concentrating on the negative. Perhaps in response, IGN have published an article saying you have to be a cunt (or 'a total noob' as they put it) to attack Skyward Sword's graphics.

eluc55

While I think that the IGN article is a nicely written piece, and largely correct, it does fail to address my major concerns about the game; specifically that the design looks rather humdrum compared to the previous entries, regardless of excusable limitations like textures, draw distance and definition. Maybe you have to see it in motion or something, but so far a lot of the characters looks rather charmless and generic even compared to Twilight Princess, let alone the highs of Majora's Mask and Wind Waker. The enemies I've seen in trailers even more so. 

I think the most accurate point about design/style is how it straddles Wind Waker and Twilight Princess quite neatly. It's a great mixture of light/dark with a strong Impressionist visual style.

I'm only a few hours into the game but I think character/enemy design is very strong. Even just walking around Skyloft (most distinctive and charming 'hub' section/concept of any game I can remember playing), there's a great bunch of characters miles apart from the generic NPC tropes you're used to.

In fact, fuck y'all, I'm off to play it some more.