Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 01:40:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Top of the Pops on BBC Four

Started by daf, June 01, 2012, 04:17:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daf

13 March 1986: Presenters: Mike Smith & Steve Wright

(20) THE BLOW MONKEYS – Digging Your Scene
Louche Sax Hankie
(2) BANGLES – Manic Monday (video / chart car-crash)
Bungled
(22) HIPSWAY – The Honeythief
Altered Image
(8) DAVE BOWIE & THE DAVE BOWIE BAND feat. DAVE BOWIE – Absolute Beginners (video)
Thin Black & White Duke
(26) FREDDIE JACKSON – Rock Me Tonight (For Old Time's Sake)
Thick Black & White Suit
- - - - - - - - - - - - (breakers) - - - - - - - - - - - -
(27) THE ROLLING STONES – Harlem Shuffle
(23) HOWARD JONES – No One is To Blame
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

https://www.flickr.com/photos/51106326@N00/sets/72157660492471210

(17) CULTURE CLUB – Move Away
Pasty Faced Cowboy George
(1) DIANA ROSS – Chain Reaction (video)
Spiralling Keychange
(13) PRINCE – Kiss (video / audience dancing / credits)
Knee Slide! ("Ow!")

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
https://vimeo.com/162036037
https://wetransfer.com/downloads/4643fe39c39c39ecefc42100a9f2a42120180824075002/4b8dea

Uncle TechTip

Ah, "Doctor" Robert Howard, one of the most delicious voices in all of pop. This heralds the rise of big-jacketed saxophone sophistication, we hated it at the time but look back with some fondness today.

I had no idea that Culture Club and Howard Jones were still charting in 1986. It's like Live Aid never happened.