Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 24, 2024, 09:50:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Films Kids Should See (non hypothetical)

Started by tubbsthespidergigolo2, September 08, 2013, 07:53:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
I'm a Primary School teacher whose looking to kill 15 mins a day.  The Head has extended the school day by 15 mins for dubious reasons and the poor kids now have to suffer a 3 hour block in the afternoon.

To give them (and myself) some form of a break in an afternoon I want to put on a film for 15 mins a day.

However, I do want to be slightly educational and subject them to films with credibility and not just films about hotels for dogs.  In fact it's not just credibility but cinema that they wouldn't usually choose to watch or see at home.

So any suggestions?  My class is made up of 9 to 11 year olds from a deprived area.  Foreign films would be fine but they'd have to be dubbed as reading skills are poor.  Films that inspire debate/discussion would be great and a mix of genre and age would be good too.

Linked to various topics, I've shown them Help/Yellow Submarine and Buster Keaton and they loved them.

Sam

Show them Tubbs the Spider Gigolo 2. Might not be a good choice if they haven't seen the first one, though.

Chichester Cathedral

Show them Look Around You S1 and act like it's deadly serious. Get them to take notes. A shiny 50p for the clever child who spots it's a joke.

sirhenry

Harold and Maude? Maybe not.
Un Chien Andalou? Maybe not
Wizard of Oz

Jawaka

Quote from: Chichester Cathedral on September 08, 2013, 09:06:33 PM
Show them Look Around You S1 and act like it's deadly serious. Get them to take notes. A shiny 50p for the clever child who spots it's a joke.

Oh you have to do this.