Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 12:19:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Elite Dangerous

Started by Alberon, July 22, 2014, 09:19:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hangthebuggers

Just completed the training missions. Docking is still a pain in the arse isn't it?

Now to embark on my proper adventures.

Steven

Quote from: Hangthebuggers on November 28, 2015, 05:50:39 PM
Docking is still a pain in the arse isn't it?

You're doing it wrong if you're involving your arse at all.

Famous Mortimer

After picking it up in a Humble Bundle, I decided to give it a go. I loved the original game, played it to death on the C64 and Amiga, did the endgame missions, etc. But this...I'm fully prepared to admit I'm not very good at playing a lot of games, but even on the very mildest sensitivity settings, the ship would just roll and roll and I couldn't even complete the first training mission.

It took me a good two minutes to just get the damn thing to stop, and then getting near to / targetting the debris proved to be close to impossible. Obviously, there's a way, otherwise you all wouldn't have had a good time playing it, but I'm buggered if I can figure it out.

Alberon

Do you have flight assist turned off? What are you using to control the ship?

Famous Mortimer

I just jumped straight into the first tutorial without messing with anything. And mouse + keyboard.

Alberon

I used to use that for a long while. I only recently bought a cheap joystick. Perhaps the sensitivity of your mouse is too high? There should be a key to cycle through targets or select nearest hostile.

I'd look at youtube or the net, there should be some good tutorials there to allow you to get the hang of it.