Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 25, 2024, 05:13:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Animation - where to start?

Started by doppelkorn, September 30, 2014, 02:18:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doppelkorn

I have some ideas in my head and I'd like to make them into little cartoons. Well that's only partly true because I'd like to have actual actors act them out but animation seems cheaper and easier at this stage.

I was gonna post this in GB but thought here might be better.

I'm not a bad artist - I've done quite a few evening classes - but I've never thought about animation. Any recommendations for software/books/tips/where to start?

madhair60

I guess Flash is probably still the best bet.   I think the CS2 version is free, now?

Petey Pate

Preston Blair's book is the classic how-to-guide for animation.  While the drawing style is rather old fashioned, the basic instructions on how to make characters walk, what mouth shapes to use for dialogue, line of action, etc, pretty much still all apply.  The page on how to draw hands has been particularly useful for me personally, though they're still one of the hardest things to draw, even simplified.

Here's a link to scans of pages from the rare first edition of the book, which has nicer drawings of actual licensed characters (Tom & Jerry, e.t.c) rather than the generic ones in the reprinted issues.

http://animationresources.org/instruction-preston-blairs-advanced-animation/

There's also Richard William's Animator's Survival Guide which is more extensive and a lot more in depth, but it's not really for beginners I think.

Steven

Quote from: Petey Pate on September 30, 2014, 02:34:45 PM