Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 24, 2024, 11:27:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

'UK Nova is closed'

Started by A Passing Turk Slipper, September 19, 2004, 01:36:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MonkeyDrummer

Quote from: "Santa's Boyfriend"
Quote from: "mook"How bad does your share ratio have to be before they kick you off?

I'm pretty new to this torrenting lark, and because a lot of the stuff I was downloading never had anybody leeching from me, my ratio has gone down to about 0.6.

They won't kick you off at 0.6.  There are people on there with 0.05 ratio that still seem to be there, but it's them rather than you who are in danger of being kicked off.  Personally I'm at a ratio of 0.3 (which I've been trying to build up very slowly, but it ain't easy) and I think I'm fairly safe for the moment.

Doesn't everyone just leave there download/upload open until you reach 1?

Slackboy

Is there any advantage to having a ratio of 3.0 rather than 2.0? I mean it does it give you a higher priority so that someone with a 3.0 ratio has a faster download speed than someone with 2.0?

Santa's Boyfriend

Quote from: "MonkeyDrummer"

I would if people continually downloaded something, yes.  But they don't.

Rubbish Monkey

ahh ha i've just managed to re-register.

I never had a problem with my ratio on UKNova. Over at Oinks its quite tough to keep your ratio up with 78,078  seeders and only 3,915 leechers (at the moment)

chav

3 golden rules for a good ratio:

1. Try not to join swarms at a late stage. As mook noted the later you join, the less there will be to upload. If possible, jump on an interesting torrent as soon as you can.