Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 06:38:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Suicide Squad

Started by Ja'moke, April 25, 2015, 10:37:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blumf

Quote from: The Region Legion on May 05, 2015, 01:26:27 PM
in Arkham Asylum where I am a doctor despite clearly being insane myself, good thing there wasn't any kind of psych evaluation for the staff.

Ignatius_S

Quote from: Claude the Racecar Driving Rockstar Super Sleuth on May 04, 2015, 01:36:30 AM
Has Will Smith's box office appeal taken a real nosedive recently? This seems like a fairly obscure looking picture for him to be playing this fiddle in.

It's far too early to say. What's not mentioned in links that Dr Rock posted was that Smith had a very poor period from the time of Wild Wild West where consecutive films lost money at the box office – although people might think favourably of Ali, especially with Smith being nominated for best actor Oscar, it flopped commercially. That said, the main appeal for the star in such biopics is that

Although After Earth was a flop, it might have broken even from the box office; as it wasn't critically well received that it managed to make so money could be argued to be due to Smith's star appeal. Although Focus could be said to have underperformed, it had a modest budget and made a very healthy profit – personally, I think it was a rather odd comeback film and realistically, it wasn't going to set the box office on fire.

I do recall a few years ago that hacks suggesting that Tom Cruise's career as a star was ending, but he seems to have managed to done not too shabbily since then. The press can be a little keen in writing off someone.