Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 03:19:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

"Hang on a minute!" realisations in films

Started by MoonDust, March 31, 2016, 08:30:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MoonDust

So I just realised this whilst making coffee this morning.

Jurassic Park.

The beginning of the film introduces Alan as a palaeontologist whose field of expertise seems to be raptors. He's at a dig site looking for them, and there's allusions to his work with raptor fossils is an attempt to prove his theory that birds evolved from dinosaurs.

Now, I used to want a be a palaeontologist, so I have some rudimentary knowledge of what it's about, namely that you can tell a surprising amount about traits and that from fossils, potentially even behaviour going off brain cavity sizes.

Alan in Jurassic Park seems to have deduced a lot from raptors; they hunt in packs, they're smart, quick etc etc.

Keep all that in mind, because who turns up next uninvited but Mr Hammond (or was it Dr.?); the owner of a park and research facility that keeps living and breathing dinosaurs.

Because he wants Alan to come see, but not give away the secret of what the place is, he has to convince Alan in some way of joining him on a mystery helicopter flight. So he promises Alan that if Alan comes with him now, he will personally finance the rest of Alan's dig and research project - which is presumably related to digging for more raptor fossils.

Now, this is where the "hang on a minute!" moment starts.