Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 17, 2024, 12:58:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Obscure strange films that showed up on terrestrial TV back in the day

Started by George White, September 20, 2017, 09:53:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

George White

Looking over RTE schedules from 2000, Popeye on RTE 2 the same day as Charles Jarrott's the Dove. All on the same day, Doomwatch, Magic, Beautician and the Beast and the Great Escape! Gumball Rally, Thief Who Came To Dinner, when i was 5, a season of Sherlocks with Rathbone. A High Wind in Jamaica. Colossus of Rhodes on BBC 2 same day as I love 1979.
I miss this.
#Morefilmsontelly

Glebe

Just bumping this because I have an obscure movie TV memory that I can't find anything about via the Google; my fellow not-that-young-anymore folks may remember ITV running foreign films late at night in the late '80s/early 90s, possibly as part of there Night Time schedule... you'd kind of watch them for naughty bits, but then get strangely emotionally caught-up in the continental romance of it all! Anyway, the film I'm thinking of was possibly Italian or French, and was about a group of old men (retired soldiers, I think) in a convalescent home or summit... one of them is a bit younger, a kind of bearded silver fox, and he has a bit of a romance with a younger woman. Any ideas? Thanks in advance, nostalgic TV watchers!

PowerButchi

Quote from: Phil_A on December 24, 2017, 10:12:24 AM
Exploitica?

I used to love Expolitica! What was it, around 1998/9? I remember I used to stay at a mates every Saturday and wed watch it on his bedroom portbable anhd that would have been around then. They'd often have an obscure film on after it in full too.

Best film they shown - The Curious Dr Humpp.