Author Topic: What are you reading?  (Read 163380 times)

Artie Fufkin

• Let Me In, Sparks
Re: What are you reading?
« Reply #1110 on: February 11, 2021, 12:55:33 PM »
I'm now reading David Mitchell's Utopia Avenue. A book involving musicians, written by a non-musician. Some of it jars with me. But, hey. What do I know. I'm just a drummer.
It's started off ok.

« Reply #1111 on: February 11, 2021, 10:20:05 PM »
I'm now reading David Mitchell's Utopia Avenue. A book involving musicians, written by a non-musician. Some of it jars with me. But, hey. What do I know. I'm just a drummer.
It's started off ok.

Think there's a thread on here somewhere for that.

Artie Fufkin

• Let Me In, Sparks
« Reply #1112 on: February 12, 2021, 12:50:17 PM »
Think there's a thread on here somewhere for that.
Oooh. Ta.

Fambo Number Mive

• Golden Member
  • MAKE ROOM FOR THE MUSHROOMS
« Reply #1113 on: February 12, 2021, 05:04:14 PM »
Have put the Pentagon Papers to one side for now (300 pages in) and am halfway through Peter Oborne's The Assault on Truth: Boris Johnson, Donald Trump and the emergence of a new moral barbarism. It's quite a slim book (just under 200 pages) and is £12.99 hardback (only came out this year), but it might make any supporter of this government you know who will listen to argument think again. Already feeling angry at Oborne's detailing of the lies this government told in the 2019 election and in early 2020.

Sorry to go all political in this thread.

I don't agree with some of Oborne's conclusions in the introduction to his book, but he is good at calmly laying out the lies and venality of this government. Reading it will enrage you though.

Captain Crunch

• Twister, Dustbuster, Hospital Bed
« Reply #1114 on: February 13, 2021, 09:46:16 PM »

Famous Mortimer

• War - it's fantastic!
    • International Syndicate of Cult Film Critics
« Reply #1115 on: February 15, 2021, 05:39:42 AM »
"The Psychology of Time Travel" by Kate Mascarenhas