Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 01:47:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

The Last CaB post that made you GUFFAW out loud: The Thread

Started by Nowhere Man, March 19, 2018, 04:03:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

popcorn

Quote from: New folder on November 09, 2019, 10:12:44 PM
I always thought that a forum is primarily driven by its community

I work in tech, for those sorts of companies with beanbags and bowls of cereal that are destroying society. The first such company I joined, someone asked me: "Where do you think the culture comes from in a company?" I said "the employees?" and he said "no, it's the people in charge".

I know that sounds like a trite tech company thing to say, but I think it's true - the people in charge decide whether there are beanbags and cereal or cubicles and timestamps, and the people in charge decide what sort of person gets hired and what sort of person gets fired. Oh and also they decide how to destroy society but that's unrelated.

pancreas

authority

vs

democracy

THIS IS NOT NEW.

We could unionise?

Probably we are mostly happy.

a duncandisorderly

Quote from: popcorn on November 09, 2019, 09:53:43 PM
t's Barry's forum, he has his own opinions about what makes a forum good or bad - for him not to enforce those would make no sense at all.

it's not the rules, as such, that I was bothered about- I'm quite happy to navigate the thread headings & subsections, & ignore stuff I'm not interested in after I've had a quick look. I miss loads anyway because I only come on here when I'm at work & the office is relatively empty. but I do want the 'brief glimpses' thread back, even if it's locked.