Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 03:19:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Mario Tennis

Started by Twed, June 02, 2018, 09:26:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twed

Deserves its own thread. It's pure game. Everybody with a Switch can be playing this for free right now.

Lots of people don't know how to play. I'm no expert, but have discovered this key point: everything in the game is named badly.

Charge Shots
You'd think this meant some kind of special shot that hits really hard and is hard to perform. No. Charge shots should be most of your shots. If the ball is coming towards you and you're not planning to do another specific thing, do a charge shot. Hold down the "HIT BALL" button and keep it held down. When the ball comes to you the character will swipe it automatically and fill up your energy meter. That's why it's called a charge shot: it's for charging up your energy, and is the bread and butter of everything.

Trick Shots
These should be called "save shots". If you're definitely going to miss the ball, hit the right stick in the direction of it and time will slow a little bit  and if you're not simply too late you'll save the shot.

You can also do a trick shot really early to fill up your energy bar considerably, but that's for when you've mastered everything else.

Star Shots
If you get on the star, try doing a different kind of shot (y button or b button). It'll be powerful and probably out of your opponent's reach.

The special star shots are okay, but don't waste your energy on them if you're only just able to squeeze one of them out. You're probably just as likely to win with a sneaky star lob, and your energy meter is better used for saving yourself from your opponent.