Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 26, 2024, 01:10:45 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Being crap at something you do care about

Started by Jockice, June 20, 2018, 08:05:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jockice

As a music journalist I was the very epitome of someone criticising something I can't do myself. I haven't the slightest bit of musical talent. My dad was a good musician (and a couple of other family members still are) but when I started piano lessons aged about 11 I soon realised that I just didn't have it. After a year's lessons all I could do was play the start of Happy Birthday with one finger (I can still do it) and my teacher decided to go back to Communist Poland rather than deal with me anymore. My dad told me this news, expecting me to be upset but when I burst out laughing that was the end of him paying for lessons. I was quite relieved. 

I can't sing either. I got thrown out of the school choir aged around eight. I cried. It's a shame, because I still maintain to this day I'd have been a fucking superb pop star. I had all my quotes ready and everything.

And football. I love it and although I wasn't terrible during my youth I wasn't much good either. I even got into the secondary school team a few (about half a dozen in all) times, and one year supplied the pass that secured us the league. Well, actually it just bounced off my knee and went to a kid who I thought was a prick who scored and therefore got all the glory.