Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 06:06:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length

99 Ways the Private Eye can fuck off

Started by Twit 2, September 08, 2018, 04:36:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twit 2

I have a permanent subscription as a gift, and I do really like Street of Shame and the stuff that exposes corruption and incompetence, but so much of it gets on my tits.

I find that there is a vein of unpleasant inverse snobbery and sneering philistinism, which often manifests itself in pseud's corner. By all means, put corporate guff and Goop-style woo in there, but the latest one, for example, has Will Self for saying he used to have 10 books on the go, but since using an e-reader has 50. I work full time and often have 15 books on the go, as I read a lot of stuff that lends itself to that: poetry, anthologies, short stories, aphorisms, novellas, non-fiction etc. I think it's fair to say 50 books at a time for a wealthy full-time novelist/journalist is about right, especially one who is known for being a voracious reader in the first place. It's basically his job to do that, so if he can't, who can? It just smacks of 'nerdy likes his booky-wooks' jealousy. Fuck off.

Another bug-bear is the book reviews, which are invariably shooting fish in a barrel take-downs of trash like celebrity autobiographies. Funnily enough, the current edition has a letter which takes them to task for this. I find Craig Brown's parodies about as funny as cancer, too.

Over to you.

Fambo Number Mive