Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Members
  • Total Members: 17,819
  • Latest: Jeth
Stats
  • Total Posts: 5,576,469
  • Total Topics: 106,648
  • Online Today: 708
  • Online Ever: 3,311
  • (July 08, 2021, 03:14:41 AM)
Users Online
Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 02:51:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Any Tips On UnFreezing A Frozen App?

Started by Dr Rock, September 29, 2018, 07:31:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr Rock

This old chestnut. I've looked around the internet but no luck, maybe one of you very intelligent people might know. Or possibly a stupid one. So I'm on a Mac (mini), running El Capitan v 10.11.6. I've been doing my books on a bookkeeping app called Manager, which is easy to use, and I have been using it for a couple of years (not constantly). You have to back up manually, no autosave here. So about an hour ago I tried to search for 'ebay' in the little search box and then it froze, spinning ball keeps on a spinning. Is there some fancy Activity Monitor or Terminal trick I could try? Or something else? After an hour it's unlikely to fix itself, right?  Or not right? I'll lose about three hours fucking boring bookkeeping work if it crashes/I force quit.

Cheers.

a duncandisorderly

sometimes, it says here, just opening the 'force quit' dialogue is enough to shake an app out of its stupor. have you looked in console to see what's wedging it up?

a duncandisorderly

also, it may be an unrelated thing that's doing the beachbally bit, not the app itself. I've one of the newer minis that periodically takes a dislike to the sony bravia which is its principal display device. pulling out the hdmi & re-inserting it seems to sort this; I think it's the telly trying to negotiate hdcp, which the mac doesn't support.