Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 09:05:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Cabbers producing music

Started by popcorn, October 30, 2018, 12:03:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

popcorn

I'm a bedroom musician, like a few people here. I used to have loads of stuff on my Soundcloud but I recently took everything off it that I'm not 100% proud of. So one song basically.

I tend to stick my questions about Ableton and the like on Reddit, but I'd much rather have them answered by lovely bald men then anonymous Redditors, so I'm starting this thread. Let's fill it with arguments about midi and USB audio interfaces.

Here's my brilliant, exciting opening question. When you're recording to tape (which I've never done), you can speed up and slow down the tape, which affects pitch. Is this possible to digitally? I mean, I know it's kinda possible, because you can do it, but presumably it's not the same because of the way the sound is chopped up into loads of little bits. It gets artefacty and weird very fast. Can someone who understand com puter explain this better to me?

It can be done quite easily in Audacity (and any DAW I would imagine)

Select (click and drag) the area you'd like to slow down. You can also go "Edit>Select>All" if you want to select everything. Click "Effect>Change Tempo". Then drag the slider to the left however much you want to slow the track down (you can also speed it up by dragging right) and click "OK"

The sound quality won't be affected just because you're in the digital domain, technically it should be better than tape. It's pitch shifting that is generally worse for adding artifacts.

jake thunder