Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 10:40:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

When your local takeaway blatantly buys their ingredients from Lidl

Started by Shit Good Nose, February 05, 2019, 10:20:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobtoo

I worked in a restaurant in the late 80s and even then the wholesaler's rep was complaining that the supermarkets were starting to undercut them, so it's nothing new.

I travel a lot for work and it's fairly normal for B&Bs, even posh ones, to openly use Lidl products.

madhair60

NoSleep

Just as long as you don't get anything with chicken in it. I purchased a whole chicken from Lidl (because it was incredibly cheap) and found that it had tumours in it... yum!

thenoise

Quote from: Shit Good Nose on February 05, 2019, 05:14:55 PM
De Cecco is so good I honestly don't see the point in the hassle of making your own and risking it being a disaster.  It's like making your own bread - you spend a day and about £5 making your own, and it comes out tasting like bland cake.  Vot is point?

Ingredients for bread don't cost £5.  Unless you're counting the tin, but that will last you a lifetime.

Flour, yeast and salt for a family loaf of bread will cost about 25p, unless you buy it in a little bread makers pack or something equally ridiculous.  Buy expensive flour if you want, but inexpensive is fine.  If it tastes like bland cake, put more salt in and make sure the yeast is in date.

thenoise

Delia's four star coleslaw

The dressing is a bit unnecessary, just mayo lemon juice and seasoning is fine, maybe a bit of mustard if you happen to have any in the cupboard.  You should adapt the ingredients based on what you have and/or what is cheap locally.  Spending £7 on one side dish is ludicrous.