Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 12:01:19 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Tell me about production

Started by Beagle 2, February 09, 2019, 12:36:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beagle 2

Tell me why I hate the way this track is recorded, which I think is an amazing song by an amazing band but the way it's recorded is just yuck.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0oJxUXTLcY

Now tell me why this is perfectly recorded and it's all right in my ears and perfect?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spm5-SXo4Do

And why, when it takes bands years to get an album out and it's had a troubled history and several producers... why does that sound shit?

I've been recording music for 13 years and I haven't got a clue about all this shite.

Bennett Brauer

Probably stating the obvious, but the greater the band interferes with the producer's work, the worse it sounds. Each band member wants his part to be more prominent so it all ends up sounding over the top. I think Queen were happy to defer to Roy Thomas Baker for their early albums, and stuck to that sound later with Mack.
The art of separation seems to have waned with new technology - loudness wars and all that. That could apply to the Eighties Matchbox clip, but I don't know much about them.

Twed

I'm listening on a phone so this might be inaccurate, but the first song seems to be commiting that classic production sin of lacking dynamic range.

Bazooka

Quote from: Twed on February 09, 2019, 01:23:39 AM
I'm listening on a phone so this might be inaccurate, but the first song seems to be commiting that classic production sin of lacking dynamic range.