Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:19:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

The work of David Cronenberg

Started by Mantle Retractor, February 10, 2019, 09:08:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mantle Retractor

I've been meaning to make a thread about Cronenberg for absolutely ages. Seeing mentions of The Fly (which may well be my favourite film of all time) in the Jeff Goldblum Appreciation Thread has inspired me.

I must say that I'm by no means an expert on Cronenberg: there are plenty of gaps in my knowledge. I don't know his earlier films (Stereo, Crimes of The Future) and I've not bothered with any of his more recent output beyond Eastern Promises. I don't know why this is because, along with Lynch, I hold him in exceptionally high esteem.

The Fly was my first introduction to him, rented from the video shop. I must have been about 7 or 8 when I saw this one and it absolutely fascinated me: the disgusting deterioration of Brundle and his warped take on his situation (the medicine cabinet of body parts was particularly grim because I had a tin under my bed where I kept all my baby teeth). I was also fascinated by the design of the telepods in the film and thought the computer was the coolest thing ever. A young me also fancied Geena Davis.

I must have seen this film perhaps more than any other and can quote it backwards. I used to re-enact Brundle's "children's book" about How Does Brundlefly Eat? much to the annoyance of my friends (without the vomit drop, sadly). The documentary Fear of The Flesh on the DVD and Blu-Ray is essential viewing, arguably one of the best documentaries you'll find as a special feature on any release.