Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 08:07:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

C# job in Canada

Started by BlodwynPig, April 08, 2019, 07:57:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zetetic

Quote from: Cuellar on April 10, 2019, 10:54:41 AM
Have I bluffed my way into a dead end?
I suppose that depends what you want from life. I'm a data analyst, albeit with a fancier title and I have no desire to go any further up the greasy pole (not least because it largely demands managing other people).

Are you bored, poor or both?

seepage

I'm amazed there isn't a package for everything now. We thought we needed bespoke forestry software but ended up using sap instead.

seepage

Quote from: Zetetic on April 10, 2019, 12:46:35 PM
I'm a data analyst, albeit with a fancier title

At my work, junior ones were titled 'Squirrels' and seniors 'Ninjas' - are you a 'Ninja'?

Cuellar

Quote from: Zetetic on April 10, 2019, 12:46:35 PM
I suppose that depends what you want from life. I'm a data analyst, albeit with a fancier title and I have no desire to go any further up the greasy pole (not least because it largely demands managing other people).

Are you bored, poor or both?

Mainly bored. I quite enjoy the coding, making stuff side of the job so I have absolutely no objection to retraining - I just can't afford to. At least, not to the level that seems to be required if I want to move somewhere else. Which I do.

If we weren't on the precipice of crashing out of the EU I'd go over there and do a course for about a tenth of the cost.

Twed

Quote from: seepage on April 10, 2019, 01:52:04 PM
At my work, junior ones were titled 'Squirrels' and seniors 'Ninjas' - are you a 'Ninja'?
Fuck. Can I hug you? Somebody has hurt you.

seepage