Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 09:36:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Don't Worry, Kyoko (Mummy's Only Looking For Her Hand In The Snow)

Started by Gregory Torso, April 23, 2019, 09:44:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kalowski

Quote from: Monsieur Verdoux on April 23, 2019, 10:17:02 PM
yeah the first two Yoko albums are immense, well worth giving them a shot
Approximately Infinite Universe is pretty damn good, too.

biggytitbo

I'm no expert on Yoko's stuff but ive heard a fair bit over the years and I think some of it is really good (Don't worry kyoko is a favourite), the idea shes some atonal talentless fraud is clearly a Beatles bro myth. Equally though, the idea shes actually some vast genius even beyond the Beatles is equally an absurd stretch. Most of her actual art is trite and stupid, but her music is interesting in its own right, to a point.

Sin Agog

I dunno, she was one of the main proponents of the Fluxus movement which, like a lot of arty things described in the cold, crime scene language of the straight world, sounds like indulgent bollocks, but was actually quite a cool thing I think.  That kinda shit's important to stop the world from becoming a utilitarian nightmare.

popcorn

Quote from: Gregory Torso on April 23, 2019, 09:44:07 PM
How have I never heard this before?

Don't Worry Kyoko

I just clicked this and scared the shit out of my gf, who was sleeping next to me. She screamed and hit me. She is Japanese (though not called Kyoko).

McChesney Duntz

What about the infamous B-52s "cover" of it that got removed from all versions of Whammy! past the first one? Oddly, it sounds way less like Yoko than certain segments of "Rock Lobster" do...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioNtn3tKP_A