Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 08:02:26 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Danny Baker. #CANCELLED.

Started by king_tubby, May 08, 2019, 08:40:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ballad of Ballard Berkley

I've been a Danny Baker fan for, oh, 20 years or so, and I've never paid any attention to anything he's ever said about football (a sport, like all sport, I have no interest in).

Hasn't most of his output been devoted to pop culture, trivia, whimsy, the inventive subversion of tired broadcasting tropes and PG Wodehouse references?

Racism is an unexpected olive on the platter, I'll grant him that.

DrGreggles

Quote from: gib on May 08, 2019, 11:55:20 PM
I have no time for him whatsoever but i genuinely believe that at the time he posted that he wasn't thinking about the kid's ethnicity.

Like I said earlier, it says more about the people who did make that connection.

Bloody hell had me going for a minute there...for a minute I thought he'd; you know...

He'd FIDDLED.

easytarget

It took me a minute "monkey? why is that bad? attacking the royals? nah, animal rights? hmm, attacking a baby? well maybe but not so much... oh HANG on".  Those dots were pretty far apart for me.

lankyguy95

^
Me too.

Another case of "how can anyone possibly not think exactly like me?" Even naivety is punishable now.

Uncle TechTip

Quote from: Cuellar on May 08, 2019, 09:28:05 PM
Good I'm glad he's cancelled.

Remember when he told his listeners to go round and beat up a referee that didn't do or did do something about a footy wooty player in some sort of match?

I've never liked the guy.

Yeah but no one took it seriously and actually did it. Different times, I guess.

BlodwynPig

Quote from: easytarget on May 09, 2019, 12:17:17 AM