Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 23, 2024, 10:58:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Bands whose names you prefer to their music

Started by Jockice, July 13, 2019, 08:41:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jockice

I'm currently wearing a Desperate Journalist t-shirt. Not that I'm a massive fan. They're good at what they do and if I'd been in my 20s or 30s when they were about I might have been that sort of fanatic. But I'm in my 50s and bought the t-shirt simply because I used to be a journalist and I was often desperate.

The Slits is another one. It was David Bowie's favourite band name ever apparently and although I quite like some of their stuff it's not as good as their moniker. If they were called something else I may not even given them more than a cursory listen. With or without their tits out on the LP cover.

Am I sad? Or what?

DrGreggles

And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead...

Inspector Norse

Icehaven

My first (terribly pretentious) teenage band was nearly called Thelonious Monk because the guitarist had heard the name somewhere and thought it was some old philosopher. I can't remember how we found out he was actually a jazz musician (no internet then to check) but seeing as we never played anywhere except our bedrooms it didn't really matter. I've still never listened to anything by the real TM (which would surely have been how he was referred to in the court action had we become famous.)

purlieu

Quote from: Jockice on July 13, 2019, 08:41:25 PM