Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 04:42:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length

empathising with characters who look like you

Started by PlanktonSideburns, August 30, 2019, 06:53:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PlanktonSideburns

Really enjoying bill tench in mind hunter, partially because of a good character acted well, partially because as time and gravity plays it's cruel game on me, I'm begging to look a bit like him - going from being an amphetamine thinned young person to a husky, burnt out looking kind of sod, and I think part of the joy of watching this bloke is he he comfortable in his shape - where I am still learning to deal with this weird new shape I'm becoming.

Anyone else had a heightened experience of watching a character because of their resemblance to yourself? Either physical or just in style or whatever. I don't look like that bloke, I just increasingly feel like how he looks

mothman

bgmnts

Probably why I like so many Chris Farley films.

Shaky

This is why I liked sad, middle-aged, lovelorn, overweight Spider-Man in Spiderverse. A very clever move on their part. See also: sad, middle-aged, lovelorn, overweight Thor in Endgame.

I basically feel like a gone-to-seed superhero these days.

Epic Bisto

Vigo just wanted company.  He must have been really twiddling his thumbs for 400 years.

Dr Rock

Wolverine in X-Men 2, because he was trying to figure out his past, as I was at the time.

Then later, Logan when he is dealing with constant pain, as I am.

Puce Moment

That ginger student in Fame who watches his actor girlfriend kissing the charming student for just a little too long during a rehearsal scene.

Inspector Norse

Probably why I like so many Sam, The Ugliest Dog In The World films.