Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 02:21:43 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Am I missing something?

Started by Butchers Blind, October 25, 2019, 01:37:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chollis

Endicott

Noonling

Quote from: Butchers Blind on October 25, 2019, 01:37:34 PM
So, at work there's this girl who I've been getting along with - jokes, flirty glances, easy conversation, etc.  Then last week she voluntarily gives me her phone number on a post-it note with an x underneath.  We exchange a few messages outside of work - everything is good so far.  Yesterday I decided to ask her to go for a drink after work, she looks at me with a puzzled look, laughs and says, very definitely, no.  She's been avoiding me since.

I'm no expert on the fairer sex but that's just odd, right?

For serious talk on this: It is weird when written down, but I do think its somewhat explainable (bar the puzzled look). "Flirty glances" is so very subjective and jokes and easy conversation are things you have with a friend. An "x" under her number is weird to me, BUT some people do put Xs in everything compulsively as icehaven said. All together it is possible she didn't mean to flirt with you. BUT you would think after being asked out she would realise "Oh wait, that could be misconstrued..." and at least not be puzzled about it.

Otherwise the reason may be:
1) She has a boyfriend/husband that literally everyone in the office but you is aware of.
2) She either thought you were gay or there is such an age gap that she didn't think it possible it could be misconstrued.
3) Literally everyone in the office but you knows she's gay.
4) You've neglected to mention that you were rubbing yourself while you asked.