Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:47:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

University Challenged

Started by Alberon, March 16, 2020, 10:17:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Attila

Quote from: Alberon on September 22, 2020, 07:30:11 PM
No one here can see face to face teaching in non-practicals surviving more than a fortnight.

If I was a lecturer I'd start 'developing' Covid symptoms and begin self-isolating.

Sadly it's been made clear here that we will be face to face unless the government explicitly says 'stop.'

Might have have to pretend, as we've already had students going into isolation. Staff have to fill out a fuckton of forms and prove that we really have the symptoms, &c., as management are convinced we're all just  bunch of scivers. Exhibit A is from last March, when they tried to order everyone to install a work-tracking app on our home computers/laptops, since they are convinced that WFH = just being sat around being lazy.

The fact that for the past 48 hours people have been run ragged trying to carry out the mad initiatives for on campus teaching with software that doesn't work, entire buildings with no HDMI cables, and all sorts of tech issues should be a clue for them, but, nah.

I came to this university because it was a lifeline and a chance at a much better career than I'd had up til then :(

BlodwynPig

University's have been corrupted and gutted in all but the top tier - well they are as corrupt but at least you'll have excess HDMI cables at Oxford.

Puce Moment