Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 24, 2024, 02:58:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Cutting out meat

Started by Butchers Blind, November 16, 2020, 01:53:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thenoise

Yeah chefs are utterly convinced that vegetarian food is all incredibly bland, so they over season it to fuck. Many a perfectly decent vegetarian soup has been ruined by an overzealous carnivorous chef chucking in a ludicrous amount of pepper as it supposedly tastes of nothing.

thenoise

Quote from: Buelligan on November 16, 2020, 02:37:24 PM
Yes.  Obviously I did it years and years ago.  Can't even imagine, properly, what meat is like any more.  Never miss it. 

Never think of it except when at work - I work in a restaurant kitchen.  I have to wash everything, every thing, every day when I get home because the smell, to me, of raw, cooking or cooked meat, is disgusting.

Same. I dont know whether it was because I gave up meat as a child, but the smell is appalling to me too and the sight, everything about it repulses me. As far as I'm concerned it's all just like what the cat eats.

I have a vague memory of enjoying bacon sandwiches around the age of around 4, but hard to reconcile this with the sensation the smell of cooking bacon gives me now.

Twit 2

Ate some roadkill the other day. Tasty and ethical.

phes

I went veggie about 2 years ago. I do occasionally eat meat if i'm sharing a takeaway with someone else or i'm served meat by someone, but other than that i'm pretty good. 

Quote from: Jockice on November 16, 2020, 08:24:35 PM

And finally, my ultimate bugbear, that there are still eating places where the only veggie option is some spicy shit. In this day and age. Unbelievable. Grrrr.