Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 29, 2024, 01:31:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Intimidated by art: where to (re)start?

Started by Thomas, March 30, 2021, 11:19:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomas

I am interested in writing. I liked to read it and make it. About ten years ago I studied literature and philosophy at university. You'd assume this would prime me well for diving into books and making connections between writers, intuitively recognising the hallmarks of a modernist or postmodernist text, but, a decade on, I struggle when I see terms like modernist, postmodernist, structuralist. In fact, I get to feeling quite down, not knowing where to (re)start with all this stuff, wondering if my own writing will always lack something until I improve my understanding.

I'm listening to Blindboy on The Adam Buxton Podcast this morning. Impressively knowledgeable and insightful about the history of art movements and critical theory - but also intimidating, even overwhelming.

It's regrettable that I was so withdrawn and unmotivated at university - looking back, it was an amazing opportunity to pave the inside of my head with the concrete of all this, ready to build upon in the subsequent years. However, as it stands, I frittered the time away listening to Morrissey and feelin' blue, and now I have to Google academic and critical terms every time I come across them. It can be quite embarrassing to admit that you've forgotten everything. I'm sure this is relatable.

So, clever clogses - and I know we have them on here - can you recommend any particularly good resources for the quasi-begin-againer?

buttgammon