Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 10:29:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Email providers

Started by touchingcloth, April 03, 2021, 02:40:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

touchingcloth

I've been using gmail for over ten years as my main personal email provider, but I'd like to switch away. For numerous reasons, in descending order of arsedness:

- they don't need to scrape any more of my data than necessary
- the address includes my date of birth, and there are no unique options left for my name which don't look like an MSN handle circa 2001
- Gmail uses labels to categorise emails rather than a folder structure, meaning if you use non-Gmail addresses[nb]I have a non-DoB account which I use as a forwarder for job applications and the like. [/nb] in the Gmail client and vice versa then compromises have to be made
- they don't support push notifications

The things I *do* like about gmail are:
- decent inbox search, which makes the lack of folders a largely academic issue if you have a rough idea of who sent you a given email and when
- support for aliases (the myname+netflix@gmail.com) sort of thing
- integrates with Google drive[nb]Ideally I'd move away from this as well, but I'm involved with various things which require shared documents and spreadsheets among PC and Mac users, and given how decent their office web apps are - especially for collaborating - Google are probably the least of all the evils for now. [/nb]
- I've never had any outages or issues with deliverability or speed of forwarders

The above has ruled out various providers because they:
- don't have a pool of free addresses large enough for to avoid DoB sort of shite (this rules out iCloud & Yahoo)