Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 09:43:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Koko-di Koko-da (2019)

Started by Prison Biscuits, April 22, 2021, 07:18:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
I watched this film this morning and it's haunted me all day. Anyone else seen it?

It's a Swedish film - I'll put the synopsis in spoilers just in case, I went in blind and you might like to - about
Spoiler alert
a couple who, three years after their daughter dies suddenly, go on a camping trip where they are terrorised and humiliated over and over by three creepy circus sideshow characters in a Groundhog Day style time loop.
[close]

It was such a harrowing, moving and really odd little film. I'm not good at writing about films, but a few reviews I read online have used all the usual adjcetives like 'Lynchian' etc. You know, because it's a bit weird and non linear and allegorical.

Anyway, ignore that. I found myself in tears watching this film,
Spoiler alert
during a really beautiful shadow puppet show that illustrates the couple and the death of their daughter through a family of rabbits where 'death' is a rooster and in their grief they hunt it down.
[close]

As with a lot of foreign language films, I have the feeling I missed out on some cultural references (
Spoiler alert
the title is a reference to a Swedish folk song, I believe but I don't know if the 'family' who were stalking them were part of that; also didn't really understand what the white cat was there for, unless it was just a signifier of weird shit is about to go dow
[close]
n) but still, not that difficult to follow what was going on.

Really quite something. It's not often I sit and watch a film without some distraction, but this captivated me.

BlodwynPig