Author Topic: Leaseholds and other even worse partial ownership bollocks  (Read 1791 times)

FerriswheelBueller

• CaB rear of the year 2020
  • Silver Member
  • Take it easy, but take it.
    • I am antsy for baseball in the off-season.
Re: Leaseholds and other even worse partial ownership bollocks
« Reply #30 on: June 09, 2021, 11:45:02 AM »
I'm not a expert but basically a freehold means that you own the property and leasehold means that you "own" let's say, a flat but you don't own the ground that it stands on or the building that your flat is contained in, and as such there is a property management company above you who have a set of rules in place and will tell you that you can't keep a pet in "your" flat and will tell you that you cannot alter the exterior of your flat in any way. Great if you like being spied on and micro managed while living to a predefined set of rules, not good if you want to put a shed outside your ground floor flat.

Sorry but isn’t that completely insane?

I own my house, but not the land it is situated on so I can’t do anything to my own building? In what sense do I “own” it then? It’s Kafka-esque.

Shoulders?-Stomach!

• Silver Member
  • 🔱8️⃣0️⃣0️⃣8️⃣7️⃣3️⃣5️⃣5️⃣🔱
    • http://jackanderton.jamendo.net/
« Reply #31 on: June 09, 2021, 11:53:44 AM »
I believe https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commonhold this was invented to help improve the situation but hardly any have ever been set up, probably because it is massively in the rent-seekers interests to carry on being parasitic entities.

« Reply #32 on: June 09, 2021, 12:05:36 PM »

I own my house, but not the land it is situated on so I can’t do anything to my own building? In what sense do I “own” it then? It’s Kafka-esque.

We were renting a leasehold, but even if we did own it, I think we would have been allowed to do some decorating and home improvements within the flat, but still no pets and any other rules that the management company enforce. Even though it's "your" property.