Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 19, 2024, 11:27:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Antidepressants

Started by Smeraldina Rima, July 26, 2021, 07:37:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
I've not been very happy with fluoxetine recently[nb]I actually warmed to it because it seemed to be making me thinner initially, which isn't really the right reason to keep taking it I know, but then the brand changed and so did that side effect - or that's how it seemed to me, don't know if that's plausible.[/nb] or others in the past. I think I know how worthwhile seeking amateur medical advice is, but I'm not very good at getting helpful professional advice. Has anyone had a good experience with a drug that relieves anxiety and helps you get on with things without making you more stupid, overenthusiastic, fat, sweaty or sleepy?

buttgammon

If SSRIs aren't so great, SNRIs are usually the next port of call. They still work on serotonin, but they also work on norepinephrine, so it's possible to switch over to them quickly without withdrawals or anything Side effects can be really variable from person to person but with venlafaxine at least, the main one is sweating, which is annoying but arguably not as unpleasant as the other things you've listed.

Kankurette

Venlafaxine also has withdrawal symptoms from hell. I've had symptoms similar to cold turkey when I've missed doses. It's a horrible drug, and I'm glad I'm off it. I'm on Sertraline now. Citalopram also made me fat. I gained a ton of weight on it and it hasn't all come off.

buttgammon

Quote from: Kankurette on July 26, 2021, 10:08:56 AM