Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 12:19:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Has a book ever changed you?

Started by Thomas, July 26, 2021, 07:58:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomas

Inspired by the Has a film ever changed you? thread, a thread that changed me.

Though I should have done it 10 years ago as a student, I recently read The Plague by Albert Camus. The core philosophy of its protagonist remains buoyant in my brain, (sometimes) comforting me in episodes of personal anxiety and broader, more abstract depressive thoughts about heat death. There is no 'final victory' over life's plagues, but a 'never-ending fight against terror' in which we must 'strive to be healers', no matter the perceived inevitability of failure.

There was also a line in a Victorian novel I read eight years ago, which discordantly chimed with something in my brain and triggered a severe mental health crisis, the effects of which I'm still dealing with today - but that's a bit personal.

As a teenager I read the disgraced Complete Prose of the disgraced Woody Allen before I knew about his disgrace, and it informed my sensibilities about written humour. Ruined now, obvs. Most recently the lessons of Will Storr's The Science of Storytelling have helpfully embedded themselves, enabling me to appreciate stories (in all forms, from the short story to the documentary) with greater understanding.

Of the many books you voracious readers have enjoyed, which ones have shunted your neural pathways in a particularly notable way?

PlanktonSideburns

Read bruce sterling's heavy weather, which for some reason left me with a sense of total apocalyptic doom about the weather I can't shake

Current state of it isn't helping also