Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

March 28, 2024, 11:27:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Making Electronic Music

Started by chutnut, September 22, 2021, 02:32:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chutnut

Anyone here into making electronic music? What do you use and how?

I've been using Cubase for over 20 years now (since I was about 15), with a few extended breaks along the way. Originally making noise/ambient/glitch stuff, but over the years I got more into dance music and started focusing on that. I do still like to make the odd more experimental tune, if stuff like that can even still be considered experimental.
To be honest I never really started learning how to actually produce properly until a couple of years ago, at first I was just chuffed that I could have a recorded copy of music that I made and that was enough for me, only ever focused on the creative side. The production side I just tried to figure out as I went along (doesn't really work).

I've tried to learn max/msp in the past as it sounds incredible, but had to accept that it's all way over my head and to stick to more traditional methods
All the trendy kids these days like to use Ableton, and the max/msp integration did tempt me, but at the end of the day I can do pretty much everything I need in Cubase already so why make things more complicated by moving over to something else.

So basically my set up is Cubase (+plugins), an Allen & Heath mixer, a Focusrite Scarlett audio interface, an SM57, and a few budget hardware synths/drum machines that I just use for recording individual sounds into Cubase.
I refuse to use sample packs so I make beats using sounds recorded myself, or sometimes Drumazon (a VST emulation of a 909).