Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 26, 2024, 02:42:19 PM

Login with username, password and session length

What's your own accent like?

Started by Lisa Jesusandmarychain, October 03, 2021, 02:26:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thenoise

Neutral. A bit like Adam Buxton, complete with lapsing into various silly accents for no apparent reason (probably bored with the overwhelming neutrality of my own voice).

Icehaven

I grew up in Coventry, which has no accent, so having lived in Birmingham and the Black Country for the last 17 years I now have a mix of nothing and Coventry people telling me how Birmingham I sound. I don't think I do but you can't really hear yourself, can you. At least not as others hear you.

Johnny Foreigner

Not foreign. I did a degree in English linguistics, which involved in-depth study of English phonology. I am therefore able to speak posh, traditional RP, but only do so when I wish to intimidate people who are annoying me. Amongst my friends in Yorkshire, I sound rather more northern. Here in Scotland, I sound like a nondescript, albeit well-heeled Englishman. Sir Patrick Moore, however, only comes out when I am really quite crawss.

WhoMe

Definitely close to that hybrid east London/Essex twang that's been getting canned on here, but thankfully not as rounded out as the 'oor look'a that lavley micro-pig in'e nawice' Romford/Brentwood travesty.

Quote from: purlieu on October 03, 2021, 07:09:11 PM
I'm from Inkleh

For the uninitiated, that's the town of Hinckley as it's name is voiced by those living round there.

An tSaoi

Liam Neeson meets Father Dougal.

"I have a very particular set of skills, Ted."

Durance Vile