Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 28, 2024, 02:28:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

sailonline - nerdy sailing game

Started by hamfist, April 08, 2015, 07:49:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hamfist

Have you ever tried this ?

http://www.sailonline.org/

I thought it would be shit. A bit pedestrian.

But I really enjoy it. It's not really something you sit there and play. It's more like an online chess tournament  where you dip in, check the forecast and adjust your course then bugger off and check on it later.

There's a 'race' on there starting tomorrow afternoon around the Canary Islands and I'm going to have a go, it's my first try so I'll probably sink.

syntaxerror

Hollow

Sounds about as much fun as Desert Bus.

mook

doesn't hamfist live in switzerland? gone all crazy from the landlockedness that's all.

hamfist

I reckon you're right I need bodies of water. Big ones. Bigger than lakes.

Anyway - white hot news from the race. I started off well, moved up to 32nd position out of about 192 boats. I set a plan which used true wind angle to get the most speed out of the boat to achieve that. Then rounding the first marker was due to happen in the night, and I'm fucked if I'm getting out of bed for it.

So I made a set of delayed heading changes to get around it, but they turned out to be much more coarse than what the proper sailors did and I drifted back to about 77th place. I'm now taking a different track to most other boats to gain speed and I think the wind is drifting in my favour - by the next marker I should have caught the pack.  Currently up to 63rd...

hamfist