Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 16, 2024, 10:09:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Cause of death written up as COVID when it shouldn't be - a phenomenon?

Started by Blinder Data, August 14, 2021, 10:57:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blinder Data

sorry if this thread attracts COVID deniers but just thought I'd share a story. my 64 yo stepmother died suddenly and unexpectedly a few weeks ago. according to my dad, the pathologist is likely to rule that she died of COVID and no post mortem for further investigation will take place.

this decision has angered my medically trained dad who thinks that it is almost certainly heart or head related. obvs I'm no expert but I've never heard of anyone sitting down to watch the telly, displaying no symptoms, and in a matter of minutes dying of COVID. I know that it can cause heart attacks but AIUI usually that happens after several days of symptoms and not so soon after infection. (my dad caught it at the same time as her and it took c5 days to display symptoms). I think it's possible COVID was a factor (she had it pretty badly last year) but not the ultimate cause.

I'm guessing the pathologist is snowed under and is taking the easy option. in my view this makes a mockery of an official document and will cause unnecessary distress to the family.

in the words of Morrissey, I've seen this happen in other people's lives (even on here?) and now it's happening in mine. it's extremely disquieting to know my stepmother's death will be chalked up as another COVID stat when frankly it shouldn't be.

has this happened to anyone you know? is there anything to be done?

mothman

No equivalent experience to share, but sorry for your loss BD.

Zetetic