Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Members
  • Total Members: 17,819
  • Latest: Jeth
Stats
  • Total Posts: 5,578,459
  • Total Topics: 106,671
  • Online Today: 1,086
  • Online Ever: 3,311
  • (July 08, 2021, 03:14:41 AM)
Users Online
Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 20, 2024, 02:37:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Blagging contract services by threatening to leave

Started by The Mollusk, June 21, 2022, 05:04:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Mollusk

Anyone got any positive experience with this cheekiest of try-ons?

I had a crack at it earlier this year when my Three phone contract was coming to an end. I found a better deal with Vodafone so got in touch with Three, told them I have been paying them out the arse for iPhones for the last 8 years and have never missed a payment, and now I'm thinking of leaving, so would they consider beating the rate offered to me by another network as a reward for my loyalty? They all but told me to fuck off. Given that I've only ever heard good stuff about this method of blagging, and considering my years of dedicated patronage, I will admit I was quite shocked they didn't even say they'd match the offer I found elsewhere. Just a straight motherfuckin NO.

Cut to present day. We've been on the introductory half price Virgin Media broadband for 18 months, previously £24 a month and due to go up next month to £47.25, which I don't want to pay. We had some lad from BT at our door a few weeks back saying we could have 100-150mbps broadband for £30 a month for 24 months if we wanted to switch. Have I got a pot to piss in if I try and blag Virgin to match their offer?