Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 01:37:17 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Dawn Of The Final Day: Majora's Mask 22 Years Later

Started by Ron Maels Moustache, August 05, 2022, 11:52:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

"If it's something that can be stopped, just try to stop it!"

Just on a whim I started playing this again after many years and it made me think some thoughts.

This is often described by fans as "the darkest Zelda" because it has a lot of disturbing elements that aren't necessarily in keeping with the series as a whole, and while that's true I think it goes a lot deeper than just aspects of the story being grimmer and more unsettling than you would usually expect from a Zelda game. I think it's certainly heavier thematically than any other game in the franchise, which is unusual considering that the series exists mainly in an escapist space where reality never intrudes.

What strikes me now most of all, and I'm sure can't be the only one, is the biggest threat you face in MM is something much more existential than just fighting an evil wizard pig-man for the hundredth time - the looming threat of global annihilation literally hovering over the heads of everyone on the planet, something that everyone cannot help but be constantly aware of throughout every moment of every day but are powerless to stop...well, let's just say this definitely feels a lot more apt two decades after the game was released.