Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 07:52:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Ben Thompson and Sunshine on Putty

Started by Mobbd, September 07, 2022, 05:49:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mobbd

Ben Thompson was mentioned by Stewart Lee in the BBC broadcast of Snowflake.

(It was something like, "Ben Thompson, who is respected for writing critically about comedy, said this bit [of the show] was the apogee I've what I've been working towards for 30 years, which I found offensive because...")

The name sounded familiar to me because he wrote Sunshine on Putty: The Golden Age of British Comedy from Vic Reeves to the Office. (2004). Review here.

I found the namedrop an archaic one because I don't think he's written much about comedy since 2004. (Though it looks like he helped to ghostwrite Me, Moir and Gilliamesque). Oliver Double* strikes me as more currently active in writing studiously about comedy.

(*I have also heard him mention Oliver Double on a podcast. And Robert Wringham. I think it's nice that he might be giving nods to auditors of recent comedy history.)

Aaaanyway, I remember Sunshine on Putty being good and probably correct about the "golden age" it presents. A comedian friend told me they didn't like how they or others were represented at times though.

Did anyone else here read Sunshine back in the day or more recently? I'd love to hear opinions.

Or does anyone know anything about more recent comedy-related work Ben Thompson might have done?

Alternatively, does anyone fancy a read-along/book club experience of Sunshine on Putty because I'm idly thinking of reading it again and, if I do, I'll inevitably want to post curiosities to CaB.

13 schoolyards