Main Menu

Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 18, 2024, 10:41:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Interesting theme tunes

Started by Replies From View, June 26, 2022, 11:14:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Replies From View

A thread about TV and film theme tunes that you find musically intriguing.

I'm not a musician myself but I do find music interesting, and recently I've stumbled upon two videos that fit this subject.

The Terminator:

Transformers:

Any more you can think of?

bgmnts

Very cliche answer but i've always found the Simpsons theme tune quite interesting and the Quantum Leap theme tune interesting.

The Simpsons just feels like nothing i've heard in a theme tune and sometimes it feels like it's just discordant and all over the place but it isn't. Every time I hear it I try to highlight a different instrument every time.

Quantum Leap just sounds weird to me.

Glebe

Stewart Copeland has produced some memorably quirky/catchy themes:

studpuppet

This one has a lot more going on than you'd expect. There's even a slight ska-like element to it.

Jittlebags

A lot of the ITC stuff had some great music. The Protectors being a great example. I also quite like the Jason King one.

Sebastian Cobb

it's "like the theme tune more than the show" for me clive!

Rizla

Quote from: Sebastian Cobb on June 27, 2022, 12:22:59 AMit's "like the theme tune more than the show" for me clive!

And it's "what the fuck even is that show, that it contains horses is as much as I can tell you" for me!

Sebastian Cobb

Not a theme as such, in show composition but christ!

also of course

Glebe

The On the Record theme was a clever blend of 'hard-hitting news' and 'Here we go now off to sunny Spain!' cheeriness. Cracking croc sequence too!