Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 12:19:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length

AI: What's it good for?

Started by QDRPHNC, February 08, 2024, 03:12:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

QDRPHNC

I'm a designer and am of course worried about the impact of AI on my job. I'm not as worried as a lot of people because frankly I'm a good designer, and while AI will eventually come for my job, it has to work its way through the "I'll get my nephew to design the logo, he has Photoshop" level folks first.

And I've resisted demonizing it, because I think it's genuinely pretty amazing, and it can be used by artists in really interesting ways that I don't think have been fully explored yet. I also think that, in much the same way the internet itself removed the barriers to entry for getting your creative work in front of an audience, AI is taking this a step further and allowing people like myself, who want to create things on zero budget, opportunities to make the sort of work that would previously have been out of reach.

And of course, it's not going anywhere. I understand the copyright issues and the fears of writers, illustrators, designers, but it all just seems like such a waste of breath to me. It's here and it's not going anywhere. So you can give up, ignore it, or work with it.

ANYWAY. What made me make this thread was a document I received this morning. Yesterday I had a zoom call with two of my clients and we reviewed a bunch of work and they gave me their feedback, all very usual. They had their AI companion on the call, it sent me a summary of the call. Now, this call lasted about 2 hours and I thought it was going to be a good, clean transcript of the whole thing.