Tip jar

If you like CaB and wish to support it, you can use PayPal or KoFi. Thank you, and I hope you continue to enjoy the site - Neil.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Support CaB

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 5,585,327
  • Total Topics: 106,766
  • Online Today: 1,077
  • Online Ever: 3,311
  • (July 08, 2021, 03:14:41 AM)
Users Online
Welcome to Cook'd and Bomb'd. Please login or sign up.

April 27, 2024, 06:28:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length

I have carpal tunnel, it hurts, what do?

Started by Kankurette, March 15, 2024, 03:58:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kankurette

I'm a freelance translator and I type a lot, and for the past couple of weeks, my right wrist has been hurting like hell (no, not because I've been wanking too much, perverts). Sometimes it's bearable but other times it hurts a lot and radiates down into my elbow or even my shoulder, and my arm feels heavy and stiff, which is really irritating because it's affecting my ability to do my job. I also did arm weights at the gym last weekend and it was a bloody stupid thing to do because it aggravated it, so tomorrow is leg day.

I've told my project manager and she suggested getting an ergonomic keyboard, but I'm wondering if it's worth it. My wrist rest doesn't help either. It MIGHT be arthritis as I've got early onset osteoarthritis, it runs in my mum's family, but it's pissing me off. I've been taking painkillers for it but it's been very bad recently - I'm wondering if it might be worth asking for steroid injections.

Anyone else had carpal tunnel syndrome and if so, what helped?

madhair60

We take sour sips from life's lush lips
And we shake, shake, shake hips in relationships

beanheadmcginty

I am the RSI expert and will happily elaborate on this malarkey.

I'm the carpal tunnel king: two unnecessary surgeries and a billion MRIs to establish it's something else.

First step: do the test where you bend your wrist at 90 degrees